About Infant-Driven Feeding®

Yes, we’re on a mission.



To lead the advancement of neonatal oral feeding practice by providing globally accessible specialized education for healthcare professionals.



All infants in intensive or special care nurseries will experience oral feeding as a pleasurable human interaction that facilitates bonding, supports lifelong development and contributes to overall growth and nutrition.


About the Founders of Infant-Driven Feeding®

Sue Ludwig, OTR/L, CNT

Sue is the President and Founder of the National Association of Neonatal Therapists (NANT), an organization that supports therapists working with babies and families in the NICU. She is also the co-founder of Infant-Driven Feeding®.

She worked as a neonatal occupational therapist at the University of Cincinnati Medical Center for over 20 years.  She is driven to improve the culture of healthcare, armed with decades of experience speaking for those who cannot speak for themselves.

Sue received the Laura Edmunds Lectureship Award from UMass Memorial Medical Center and was awarded the Individual Contribution to Maternal & Child Health by the National Perinatal Association.


Kara Ann Waitzman, OTR/L, CNT, NTMTC

Kara Ann is the President of Creative Therapy Consultants, Founder of the Neonatal Touch & Massage Certification, and Co-Founder of Infant- Driven Feeding®.

She has 30 years of experience as a developmental specialist in a large level III NICU. She holds several certifications including NTMC, NIDCAP, CNT and is Pediatric NDT trained.

Kara Ann served on AWHONN’s Continuum of Care and Power of Touch Advisory Boards, NANT’s professional collaborative, and continues to serve on the March of Dimes Program Services Board. She is passionate about improving the lives of infants and families through neonatal education.

Kara Ann has received professional awards including the Ohio Occupational Therapy Pediatric Model Practice Award, the March of Dimes Healthcare Worker of the Year Award, the 2011 MVH Excellence in Service Award, and most recently the Inaugural Pioneer Award from NANT.